App Review – 3D Brain

I came across the 3D Brain App via twitter and I’ve found it to be very informative and simple to use. An older post of mine goes into a little more detail on how I value neuroscience in learning but this app has allowed me to quickly share the anatomy of the brain with my students.

How does it work?

  • It’s free

The app is versatile

  • iPad
  • iPhone
  • iPod touch
  • Android
  • Web

What does it provide?

It provides clear and comprehensive information on the location of the different anatomy with a detailed overview. In addition, the app also gives the user case study material covering associated functions, cognitive disorders and associated impacts resulting from damage to the specified area. My favorite feature of the app is the research review relating to the specific anatomy. This gives me the opportunity to further my learning in an area of my choosing.

It’s quite fun zooming around checking out the different functions of the brain and gives me much needed information to share with my students. The information is delivered in a simple and clear layout that doesn’t go too deep into the inner workings of the brain and isolates information so that it’s not too tricky to follow. I use this information to pin point parts of the brain used in learning and illustrate it instantly.

In my opinion this app is suitable for ages 14 and up.

This should get your synapses firing!

Check it out.

Leave a Reply

