Information Overload – The Disadvantages of Multitasking

Our Head of Curriculum spoke at assembly Wednesday about the dangers of force-fed information on our brains. While we are ever so lucky to have the support of Google during the odd brain block, the constant desire to know what everyone is up to during every minute of the day may be having a negative impact on our ability to focus because our brains are seeking the release of dopamines for the wrong reasons. This links to my older post on neuroscience  with particular reference to the release of dopamines without doing any real work. I am a sucker for checking strava or twitter to keep up with the latest goings on, but now I am actually starting to think of how this, scientifically, may be having a negative impact on my ability to sustain focus when I need to. This is scientifically backed up in Daniel Levitan’s latest book, The Organised Mind, which was the focus of the speech at assembly.  I am predicting that this will be next big shift in schools over the next two to three years and I’m not going to let strava, twitter or emails get in the way of my sustained focus on this topic! Now I just need to provide a link to this on my twitter account and I’m all set to go. The article below gives a better summary, but I thank the senior leadership for bringing this closer to my attention.

Please like and share this post!

Why the modern world is bad for your brain (The Guardian)

 

2 thoughts on “Information Overload – The Disadvantages of Multitasking

  1. I don’t have a need to be always connected. I love being outside and with nature. I also like to value people when I am with them. I check Facebook in the morning and Twitter in the evening. I think young people need to be brought up with a mix of interests and learn that you don’t need to be texting ,snap chatting etc 24/7. Really like the sound of your assembly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

